Oct. 16, 2023

Students' Union 2023 byelection results announced

Five new members elected to join 81st Students’ Legislative Council
2023 SU byelection results
From left: Seniru Ruwanpura, Naomie Bakana, Tanner Neigel. Cole Tripathy

Results of the University of Calgary Students’ Union (SU) byelection were announced at the end of the day Oct. 13. There were five seats available across four different faculties, with engineering, nursing and veterinary medicine each electing one representative and arts electing two.

Looking first at the multiple positions open within the Faculty of Arts, students elected Naomie Bakana and Tanner Neigel out of the six candidates who ran in the byelection. Bakana and Neigel captured 21.2 per cent and 24.8 per cent of the vote, respectively.

In the Schulich School of Engineering race, Seniru Ruwanpura has been elected out of the four candidates who ran. Ruwanpura was elected with 65 per cent of the vote.

There were two candidates running to represent the Faculty of Nursing. Colton Channon was elected with 50.4 per cent of the vote. 

Finally, in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine election, students confirmed sole candidate Nancy Ngo to the elected position. Ngo was previously filling the position as an appointed representative over the spring and summer. She received a Yes vote of 100 per cent.

“I would like to congratulate and welcome our new faculty representatives to the Students’ Legislative Council. It is always a good thing for students when they have the most representation possible, so we are thrilled to welcome five new elected officials. I look forward to working with all of them for the remainder of this legislative year,” says Shaziah Jinnah Morsette, SU president.

It is also worth mentioning that in September, SLC received a resignation from one of the current Faculty of Arts representatives. As the byelection process was already underway by the time of their resignation, their seat was ineligible for candidates to run for. This final vacant position will be filled by appointment in the coming weeks.

This year’s byelection saw 1,115 students vote. As this was a byelection, votes were limited to students currently enrolled in the applicable faculties which had races. Byelection results become official on Oct. 23.

Sign up for UToday

Sign up for UToday

Delivered to your inbox — a daily roundup of news and events from across the University of Calgary's 14 faculties and dozens of units

Thank you for your submission.