Sept. 7, 2021

Three UCalgary faculty members named to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Recognition celebrates excellence in psychology, medicine, and arts
RSC College
From left: Sheri Madigan, Bijoy Menon, and Vivek Shraya.

On Sept. 7, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) announced the selection of three UCalgary faculty members to join the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. The College is Canada’s national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership.

Dr. Sheri Madigan, PhD; Dr. Bijoy Menon, MD; and professor Vivek Shraya, MA, will be inducted into the College at a ceremony in November 2021. The scholars were selected for this honour based on academic excellence and glowing nominations from their leaders and peers.

“Our campus family is also delighted to congratulate Drs. Madigan and Menon, and professor Shraya on receiving this recognition from the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists,” says Dr. Ed McCauley, president of the University of Calgary and Fellow of the RSC. “Their commitment to excellence and pursuit of new knowledge have led to prominent discoveries in this early stage of their careers. We are thrilled to see them honoured with this distinguished award.”

Dr. Sheri Madigan, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts

Dr. Sheri Madigan leads an internationally recognised research program focused on understanding how early experiences influence children’s learning, social behaviour, and mental health. A Tier II Canada Research Chair in Determinants of Child Development at the University of Calgary, Madigan uses innovative methodologies to create and mobilize knowledge that advances the field of developmental science and impacts the lives of children and their families. 

Dr. Bijoy Menon, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Neurosciences, Radiology and Community Health Sciences, Cumming School of Medicine

Dr. Bijoy Menon is a neurologist and an associate professor in the Departments of Neurosciences, Radiology and Community Health Sciences at the University of Calgary. He leads an internationally recognized research program that is pushing the boundaries of modern stroke care by using advanced image processing techniques, statistical methods and Artificial Intelligence to develop cutting edge imaging tools and better treatments for people suffering from acute stroke.

Professor Vivek Shraya, MA

Assistant Professor, Department of English, Faculty of Arts

Vivek Shraya is an acclaimed musician, writer, performer and visual artist who uses creative and interdisciplinary arts to challenge cultural assumptions about race, gender and sexuality. Her award-winning oeuvre brings to light the experiences of marginalized communities and celebrates their perspectives. A leading thinker and an influential icon, Shraya is a unique voice in Canadian culture, transforming discourses on racism, queerness and misogyny.


Nominate a colleague

Faculty and staff who are interested in nominating a colleague for these prestigious honours are encouraged to attend a RSC Information Session on September 13 from 10 a.m. to noon. This session will feature presentations from Christopher Dragan, membership and awards officer for the RSC, and several UCalgary Fellows of the RSC with experience serving on selection committees.

Nominations for the Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists close Dec. 1, 2021.

The College is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. Nominations must be made by a current Fellow or a Member of the College. 

To learn more about the awards and how to nominate a scholar, visit the Research website. Nominations for this award are eligible for review by the SUPPORT: Research Awards Committee.

This prestigious group represents the breadth and depth of the research and expertise at the University of Calgary, representing a number of the institutes within the Cumming School of Medicine, including the Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute (ACHRI), the Owerko Centre at ACHRI, the Hotchkiss Brain Institute (HBI), and The Mathison Centre for Mental Health Research & Education at the HBI.